BGDO Board Renewal 2019 – 2021

According the bylaws of the BGDO, half of the board has to be renewed every 3 years. Six members of the board will resign this year, in order to make an overlap possible between the succeeding board for a three years mandate.

The election of board members is however dependent on a system of guaranteed representation:

  • Non-academic: at least 33 % in every linguistic region non-academic.
  • Academic: at least 50 % in every linguistic region academic
  • Linguistic: at least 1/3 French and 1/3 Flemish.
  • No more than 2 members of same hospital or same university.

The board is responsible for overall policy and direction of the association. It has final and complete control over all decisions made by the association, including the areas of finance, legal matters, clinical trials, administration, personnel and others.

Six members applied to join the BGDO Board 2019 – 2021: Javier Carrasco, Grand Hopital de Charleroi – Marc Peeters, University Hospital Antwerpen – Alain Hendlisz, Institut Jules Bordet, Brussels – Eric Van Cutsem, UZ Leuven – Marc Van den Eynde, Cliniques universitaires St-Luc – Jean Luc Van Laethem, ULB Erasme Brussels

Board members appointed for 6 years in 2016:  Ivan Borbath – Saskia Carton – Veerle Casneuf – Karen Geboes – Leen Mortier – Patrick Pauwels remain in the new board.

Elections are thus not needed due the allowed number of board members (12).

During the BGDO General Assembly on Saturday 12 January 2019,we will ask the approval of the BGDO members.

Sincere thank you to our outgoing board member, Jos JANSSENS, who has served as secretary for 6 years, and board member since the start of the BGDO in March 2004.